Superhero Birthday Party

My son has been OBSESSED with all things superhero for a while. As part of his birthday present, we even re-did his room in a superhero theme. He was so excited. So it was a no-brainer when it came to planning his birthday.

The invitation was made by Red Barn Studios (https://www.etsy.com/shop/RedBarnDesignStudio) .. . If I haven’t said it before, she’s amazing. I just give her an idea and theme and I always end up with the best invitation. superhero invite1I started wanting to make a superhero centerpiece, as well as something that could be used in his room for decoration. So I bought these letters on clearance at Michaels and then found some old comic books my husband had and some Mod Podge. I will tell you – I am NOT a crafter. So this was kind of an experiment in a way. Lol.  So the letters are not perfect, but it turned out good enough.

 

I found these superhero comic fun kits in the clearance department (for like .75 cents a peice) and it just seemed like the perfect, cheap party favor.

Then I started planning the rest of the party based on the comic superhero theme. I decided we’d do some activities that would involve a few different superhero powers and also use the comic books I had found. After some brainstorming, here is what I came up with.

img_3675

Table decor was easy. Just a plastic table cloth and some comic book pages.

img_3673

This table had most of the superhero challenges we were going to do as well as the party favor talked about above. Challenges were: “Ironman fly”: candy ring pops that the kids put on and “flew” around the trampoline. “Superman breath”: The kids blew bubbles & put on superman candy bracelets.  “Villain vaporizer”: Silly spray that the kids used to spray pictures of villains attached to balloons around the backyard. “Hulk Smash”: (show in lower pic) The kids used hulk hands/gloves to punch a board and get a prize. “Spidey web”: They put on a spiderman glow mask and climbed thru a web in the hallway.

img_3663

Superman breath: bubbles from Dollar tree. I found comic duct tape at Walmart and used that to wrap around the bubbles. Then I put Superman candy bracelets from Dollar Tree around the top.

img_3664

Ironman Fly: Candy ring pops from Dollar Tree.

img_3687

Hulk Smash: I made this board using: a tri fold board from Michaels, some paper bowls, a poster, duct tape and tissue paper. Inside each of the bowls is a different toy (found at Dollar Tree). Then we had hulk gloves already (as I said before, my son is obsessed. Lol). We attached it to some boards and then to our trampoline to make it sturdy.

img_3676

Spidey Web: Used Dollar Tree streamers and put them all over in my hallway so that the kids could try to climb thru them. My son had a spiderman mask that has glowing eyes, so they used that to make their way thru the spidey web.

Dessert! This was fun. I wanted to keep with the comic theme and so I found an etsy shop (www.etsy.com/shop/LITTLEHOPECAKES) that made these fondant comics. These were perfect and amazing. img_3597

img_3681

I made my own cupcakes and just put one edible comic on each. They were a huge hit with the kids.

img_3678

This was the birthday boy’s cupcake. A number 4 candle topped it off.

I’ll end with some pics of the kids doing the superhero challenges. 🙂

This entry was posted in Birthday Parties and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

